The award is presented on average bi-annually to an American who has demonstrated a long commitment to fostering U.S. relations with Iceland and to the building of bridges between the two countries.

The award was established in 1991 by U.S. Ambassador Charles Cobb and his wife Ambassador Sue Cobb.

The Fulbright Commission Board of Directors is now calling for nominations for the 2023 recipient. The nomination deadline for 2023 has passed. 

When evaluating nominations, the Board looks at the following criteria:

  • Active role in promoting relations in one or more of the following areas: business, culture, education, environment, government, R&D, social/societal, volunteerism.
  • Demonstration of civic-mindedness, vision and commitment to shared values of Iceland and the U.S.
  • Has created opportunities
  • Has influenced change
  • Innovation
  • Leadership
  • Long-standing commitment
  • A role model for others
  • Tangible results/concrete achievements with long-term effect
Partnership sculpture. Picture taken by Jessica Harvey, Fulbright grantee 2011-2012