Newsletter News

Three Icelandic Scholars in Fulbright Arctic Initiative IV

Fulbright Iceland Valsson

Fulbright Iceland Valsson

FAI IV Scholars Rachael Lorna Johnstone, Sigrún Sigurðardóttir and Anna Karlsdóttir

The fourth cohort of Fulbright Arctic Initiative (FAI) will commence with an in-person meeting in Tromsø, Norway in September, where twenty scholars from seven Arctic Council states will collaborate on topics of importance to the Arctic, as well as conduct individual research. We are thrilled to announce that, for the first time, three Icelandic scholars have been selected to participate in the program. The Commission thanks both the Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Innovation and the U.S. State Department for their contributions to make it possible for Iceland to have three scholars in this important program.

The three selected FAI IV scholars from Iceland are Dr. Rachael Lorna Johnstone, Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Akureyri; Dr. Sigrún Sigurðardóttir, Professor of Nursing at the University of Akureyri; and Dr. Anna Karlsdóttir, Associate Professor in Geography and Tourism Studies at the University of Iceland. We look forward to following their work over the next 18 months.